If you have been charged with Assault, contact me for a Free Consultation. I will help you understand your rights, answer your questions, and determine your need for representation.
Two general types of assault exist in Maryland and of the criminal Code of Maryland. Felony assault in the first degree & Second-degree assault (Although classified as a misdemeanor) it is still a serious criminal charge that can result in a penalty of up to 10 years’ imprisonment and a $2,500 fine. I can help you achieve the best possible outcome if you are facing charges of assault or domestic violence. A free initial consultation can help you determine how to proceed in your case.
Assault Charges in Maryland Law
As a former State Trooper and Prosecutor I have experience with all types of Assault cases. I will be your advocate in any of the types of Assault Cases below.
- First Degree
- Second Degree
- Assault against a Law Enforcement Officer
- Reckless Endangerment
- Child Abuse
- Sexual Assault
- Domestic Violence
First Degree Assault
First-degree assault is a very serious charge in Maryland, carrying a possible penalty of up to 25 years’ imprisonment. In order to be charged with first-degree assault, the state must prove the following:
- That the crime meets all elements of second-degree assault
- The crime was committed with a firearm, or the intent of the assault was serious physical injury.
Maryland defines serious physical injury as a scenario that presents a reasonable risk of death on the part of the alleged victim or results in serious injuries that disfigure the victim or impair some bodily function. If you have been charged with first-degree assault in Maryland, with my experience I will help you understand your charges and how best to approach them.
Second Degree Assault
Second-degree assault is different from first-degree assault in Maryland in that it is a less serious charge, but it still carries a penalty that can be heavy. With me by your side we can fight all charges and get the best possible outcome. The maximum penalty for second-degree assault is 10 years’ imprisonment. Under Maryland Law any unwanted physical contact can be considered assault, even if it doesn’t ultimately cause injury. Assault that poses no risk of death or serious injury is normally charged as second-degree assault, however, there are some exceptions. I have experience in these matters and will explain all options.