don't risk your future.
Attorney Julie M. Guyer is the aggressive defense you need.Get a Free Case Evaluation
Worcester County Underage DUI Attorney
Pursuing Unique Angles to Fight Aggressively for Your Defense
Attorney Julie M. Guyer has been defending clients for over 30 years, and she has cultivated strong relationships with state professionals and judges’ offices throughout Worcester County. She also brings experience as a former prosecutor and thus knows how to build an impermeable defense against the prosecution. If you or your child are facing underage DUI charges, put a tenacious and aggressive fighter on your side. Attorney Guyer will develop a detailed defense and skillfully argue for your side in adult or juvenile court.
Schedule a free consultation with Julie M. Guyer, Attorney at Law to learn more about how she can help your underage DUI charge. Call (410) 834-0373 or contact the firm online.
What Constitutes an Underage DUI in Maryland?
Maryland Code 16-113 establishes a “zero tolerance” law when it comes to underage DUI that suspends the license of any driver under 21 years old who has any level of alcohol in their system. In other words, it makes it illegal to operate a motor vehicle while intoxicated as an underage individual, regardless of whether they are actually impaired. Generally, such a zero-tolerance level of intoxication is a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of merely 0.02%.
Drivers under 21 years old found to be under the influence while behind the wheel can be charged with DUI (driving under the influence) or DWI (driving while intoxicated). Note that if the driver is between the age of 18 years old and 21 years old, their case will be handled in criminal court like any other DUI, but if the driver is younger than 18 years old, their case will be handled in juvenile court.
“I Would Have Lost Everything”- J.F.
“Highly Professional”- C.T.
“Excellent Lawyer”- W.P.
Penalties and IID Program Requirements
If handled in adult court, the penalties an underage driver may face will be the same as those for a driver older than 21 years old. The underage defendant charged with DUI could be ordered to serve up to 1 year in jail, a fine of $1,000, and 12 points on their driver’s license. If they are charged with DWI, they could face up to 60 days incarceration, a $500 fine, and 8 points on their license. Fortunately, the courts rarely sentence first time offenders to jail, and their fine may be less than $500, though an attorney can better help ensure that mitigated or minimum penalties are issued.
Note that certain DUI convictions also require ignition interlock device (IID) use, which is usually 6 months for a first offense, 1 year for a second offense, and 3 years for a third offense. Drivers under the age of 21, however, may be required to hold an IID for up to 3 years. Conversely, though, successful completion of the IID program may result in early reinstatement of a suspended driver's license.
Let Julie M. Guyer, Attorney at Law Champion Your Defense Today
If you or your child has been charged with driving under the influence while under the age of 21 years old, it is imperative that you contact an experienced underage DUI defense attorney immediately. While the penalties for underage DUI tend to be on the lenient side, they nonetheless may impact your future driving privileges through license suspension, IID use, and points on your driving record. Julie M. Guyer, Attorney at Law can help you argue for mitigated or even dismissed charges, and in borderline cases where you may or may not be charged in adult court, she can provide you the exceptional representation you need to put up a strong defense against your charges.
Don’t let a mistake in your youth impact your future; enlist the help of Julie M. Guyer, Attorney at Law today. Call (410) 834-0373 or contact the firm online today.
Why choose Julie M. Guyer, Attorney at Law?
30+ Years of Criminal Law Experience
Available 24/7 for Legal Advice
Your Initial Consultation Is Free
Former Prosecutor & Maryland State Trooper